Our Chinese Past Inc

Our Chinese Past Inc conducts projects to identify, document, preserve, research and promote the rich diversity of Chinese Australian history and heritage.

Our Chinese Past Inc was formed in 2020 by a group of historians and genealogists – Juanita Kwok, Paul Macgregor, Gill Oxley, Malcolm Oakes and Kira Brown. We are a not-for-profit organisation. We have a particular interest in the digitisation and translation of heritage material, historical records and photographs, to make these more broadly available, and better understood. We do this by working with and supporting museums, historical societies, communities and heritage interest groups. We encourage greater awareness of this history and heritage through websites, apps, publications, signage and displays.

For our first project, “Chinese temples heritage of Uralla, Tingha and Emmaville, NSW, Australia”, we photographed and digitised artefacts from historical Chinese temples of these three towns, translated their inscriptions, and researched the artefacts and the histories of these temples and their communities.

This project builds on Janis Wilton’s Golden Threads project (1997-2004) which created national awareness of NSW Chinese migrant heritage. The project has been assisted with a contribution to the funding of translation work under the NSW 2020 Small Grants Program for Local History and Archives, a funding program administered by the Royal Australian Historical Society on behalf of the NSW Government through the Heritage Council of NSW.

A Rich Collection of

Chinese Australian Heritage

The temples of Uralla, Tingha and Emmaville are no longer extant, but a rich collection of their contents is preserved at museums in New England North West: the Wing Hing Long Museum in Tingha, McCrossin’s Mill Museum in Uralla, the Inverell Pioneer Village Museum, and the Emmaville Mining Museum. These artefacts, dating from the 1860s-1930s, include altars, shrines, statues, bells, processional regalia, lanterns, fortune-telling instruments, friezes, printing-blocks, drums, cymbals, and large panels inscribed with religious and morality texts. Some of the furniture comprises dismantled sections. There are also historical photographs showing temple interiors and exteriors. The surviving artefacts, and other artefacts shown in the historical photographs, include carved inscriptions, totalling almost 1,000 Chinese characters, and containing a wealth of information.

Explore temple artefacts and more

GALLERY COLLECTION

Use the button links to filter categories 

The Wing Hing Long Tingha

Wing Hing Long Museum

by Gill Oxley The stories of Tingha’s Chinese heritage and of the great tin boom from the 1870s...
Read More
Main altar Chinese Temple Rocky River 1908, Golden Threads Scan

Interior photograph of the last Rocky River temple

Dated 1908, the temple pictured is presumably the 1880 Rocky River temple, which reportedly burnt down in 1912....
Read More
Altar table wing 2 - McCrossin's Mill Museum

Altar table wing 1

This carved panel would have been attached to the side of an altar table. It would have been...
Read More

McCrossin’s Mill Museum

by Juanita Kwok McCrossins Mill Museum is located in Uralla, the closest town to the historic Rocky River...
Read More
Chim stick canister 2 - Inverell Pioneer Village

Chim stick canister 2

This canister was used to hold the chim sticks, or fortune sticks, that were used in divination rituals...
Read More
Vase - McCrossin's Mill Museum

Vase

A vase which may have been displayed on an altar table in a temple. It is not known...
Read More
Key of Tingha Joss House - McCrossin's Mill Museum

Key of Tingha Joss House

Only one of the four temples in Tingha is reported to have burnt down. This was the temple...
Read More
Donation plaque dated 1866 - Inverell Pioneer Village

Donation plaque dated 1866

A Chinese-temple donation inscription that is couched as an address to that temple’s deity or deities, as is...
Read More
Mount for single processional item 1 -McCrossin's-Mill

Mount for single processional item 1

This mount frame would have been used inside a temple to display a processional placard when the placard...
Read More
Mount for eight processional items - McCrossin's Mill

Mount for eight processional items

This mount frame would have been used inside a temple to display processional staffs inside the temple, when...
Read More
Altar table dated 1866 - Wing Hing Long, Tingha

Altar table dated 1866

Originally believed to be from the 1866 Rocky River temple, this table was likely moved to the 1883...
Read More
Processional staff 2 - Wing Hing Long

Processional staff 2

This would have been one of a set of probably eight staffs, which would have been displayed at...
Read More

Yee Hing Society name plaque

This name plaque, which would perhaps have originally been displayed above a front doorway, may come from Tingha’s...
Read More
Painted scenes on bamboo panel 2 - McCrossins Mill

Bamboo panel with painted scenes 2

This painted screen is one of a set of three such panels (see Panel 1 and Panel 3)....
Read More
Name plaque dated 1866 - Inverell Pioneer Village

Names plaque dated 1866

The inscription on this plaque is a list of 155 names. The matching design of this plaque, which...
Read More
Candlesticks -Wing Hing Long

Candlesticks

This pair of candlesticks would have likely stood upon an altar table in the 1883 Howell Rd temple...
Read More

Our Stories

Do you own any temple artefacts?

Help us piece together the forgotten history of the Chinese temples. You may have inherited or purchased Chinese temple artefacts that have come from the New England region, if you have we’d love to hear from you.  Please leave us a message on our contact page. 

Find out what we're up to

Sign up to find out all the latest news and updates